Top Back to top

FACT-JACIE Steering Committee Meeting in San Antonio

JACIE Committee
Inspector Committee
Accreditation Committee
Quality Managers Committee

FACT-JACIE Steering Committee met in San Antonio, Texas, USA, on Monday February 19th 2024, to review the draft 9th Edition of Haematopoietic Stem Cell Transplant Standards. The aim of the meeting was to review the drafts developed in the Sub-Committees for Clinical, Collection, Processing and Quality Management Standards.

In the meeting JACIE was represented by the Co-Chairs of the Clinical, Processing and Quality Management sub-committees namely; Dr Charles Crawley, Prof Ivan Van Riet, Ms Anne Emmett as well as Tuula Rintala and Carla Sanchez-Martin from the JACIE office. Additionally, Dr Lynn Manson, Co-Chair, Dr Nina Worel, Co-Chair for the Collection Sub-Committee and Prof J J Zwaginga, Co-Chair for the IEC Sub-Committee attended virtually despite the time difference.

The meeting was chaired by Chair of the FACT Standards Committee Dr Nic Prokopishyn. All sub-sections of the Standards were reviewed with a particular focus on consistency of terminology and approach across the sub-sections. There were also a discussion about general and global considerations on specific topics to ensure that the Steering Committee agreed on the strategic direction on Standards development. 

This meeting would not have been possible without the hard work and the dedication by all the sub-committee members. The committees have been meeting weekly or bi-monthly since September 2023. JACIE would like to extend their heartfelt thanks to all our Co- Chairs and Sub-Committee members for their huge effort. 

The Standards will be available for public comment this summer and we would encourage everyone to submit their comments/concerns during this period. The Sub-Committees will be reviewing every comment submitted in autumn 2024 prior to final sign off of the Standards. 

For further information, please contact:

Steering Group Meeting Feb. 2024
From left to right: Carla Sanchez-Martin, Anne Emmett, Ivan Van Riet, Tuula Rintala, Charles Crawley.