Top Back to top

Abstract Awards

EBMT Physicians Group Awards and Prizes

Van Bekkum Award

The Van Bekkum Award is the most prestigious EBMT award for the best abstract submitted to the physician’s programme and is selected by the EBMT Board. The winning abstract will be presented as part of the Presidential Symposium of the congress.

The Award of € 5,000 is supported by the EBMT.

Jon J. van Rood Award

The Jon van Rood award was created in the name of the late Jon van Rood, a long active immunologist who made seminal discoveries and observations in the field of cell and tissue transplants, in particular hematopoietic cell transplantation. While hematopoietic cell transplantation remains a historical and canonical form of cell transplant and in many of its applications in immune therapy of hematological malignancies, many recent developments have led to the approval and commercialization of innovative industry-manufactured medicinal products, some of which have resulted in the engineering of autologous or allogeneic immune effector cells with clinical efficacy in some disease subsets. To recognize these important changes, the scope of the Jon van Rood Award is now expanded to cover immunological aspects of hematopoietic cell transplantation as well as new developments in the design and evaluation of immune effector cell therapies

The EBMT Cellular Therapy & Immunobiology Working Party (CTIWP) is pleased to offer this prestigious (€ 5,000) award for outstanding contributions in the field of hematopoietic transplantation immunology, immunogenetics, tolerance, graft-vs-leukaemia/tumour effects, immune monitoring and development of innovative therapeutic approaches based on the engineering of immune effector cells. The selection will be undertaken by a distinguished international jury.

The award will be presented on an annual basis during the Cellular Therapy and Immunobiology Working Party Scientific Session at the EBMT Annual Meeting.

To qualify for the award your paper should be published or accepted for publication during year 2019 and candidates should not be older than 40 years.

Application guidelines

Applications for the award should include the following:

  • Academic paper
  • Applicant’s CV

Application should be submitted by email to and

Please address emails to:

Christian Chabannon, Chairperson CTIWP
Programme de Transplantation & Therapie Cellulaire
Centre de Recherche en Cancérologie de Marseille
Institut Paoli Calmettes
Marseille, France

Deadline to apply: 21 January 2020

The Award of € 5,000 is generously supported by the EBMT with an unrestricted educational grant.


Basic Science Award

The aim of this award is to increase the level of basic science at the meeting and in particular young investigators are encouraged to submit their work. The prize winning abstract will be selected from the top-scored physician's abstracts by the EBMT Board of Association and Scientific Committee. The prize-winning abstract will be presented as part of the Presidential Symposium.

The Award of € 2,500 is kindly supported by Incyte.

Jian-Jian Luan Award for Lymphoma Transplant Research

This award is for the commemoration of Jian-Jian Luan who worked as study coordinator for the EBMT Lymphoma Working Party and who tragically died in an alpine hiking accident. The award will be presented to the best abstract submitted under the topic “lymphoma”.

The aim of the award is to encourage research in order to improve the results of lymphoma treatment by transplantation strategies. Both experimental and clinical work is eligible. All authors submitting a lymphoma abstract will be automatically considered for the Jian-Jian Luan Award. LWP studies or studies by LWP subcommittee chairs as well as published material will not be considered.

The prize-winning abstract will be selected from the top-scored abstracts submitted under the topic “Lymphoma” by a scientific committee headed by the Chairperson of the LWP.

The Award of € 1,000 is donated by the EBMT Lymphoma Working Party and presented orally at the LWP session.

Dietrich Niethammer Award

The Dietrich Niethammer Award was created in honor of the late Dietrich Niethammer.

The prize-winning abstract will be selected from the top-scored paediatric abstracts, and will be presented orally at the Paediatric Diseases Working Party session.

The Award of € 3,000 is kindly supported by Medac.

Springer Nature Poster

Two awards are offered for the best physician poster presentations (Best Clinical and Best Science Poster).

Each £ 1,000 Award is sponsored by Springer Nature, and the awards will be announced at the Closing Session.

Best Young Abstract Awards

The EBMT is pleased to offer 8 special awards for the best abstracts submitted for Oral presentation, and 7 special awards for the best abstracts submitted for Poster presentation at the EBMT Annual Meeting 2020.

The prize-winning abstracts will be selected from the top-scored abstracts submitted by young physicians (<35 years). The awards will be presented at 18:00, during the Poster Session on Tuesday, September 1st, 2020. 

Each awardee will be presented with a € 500 prize (kindly supported by CSL Behring), as well as 3 tickets to the EBMT Networking Event on Tuesday evening, September 1st, 2020. 

EBMT Nurses Group Awards and Prizes

Nurses Group Awards

The Nurses Group is pleased to announce that The Best Oral Presentations (adult & paediatric), The Best Posters (adult & paediatric) and The Best Research Abstract Oral Presentation will be awarded. All awards will be presented as a part of the Nurses Group Highlights and Summary Session on Wednesday, 2nd September, 2020, at 11:00 – 12:30. 

Each € 500 Award is supported by the EBMT Nurses Group.